Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10155074_10204525340873749_4107030554937799381_n

After being in the media industry for 15 years, I decided to finally go back to school and get my masters degree. There were some who were curious why. I wasn’t going to move to a new job or work my way up the corporate ladder. I wasn’t going to get a raise in salary. It was likely going to be a huge strain on the various jobs I do have, my family and of course, my wallet. So why did I decide to enroll in Regent University’s graduate program?

My pastor shared a story once about two men who were tasked to chop wood in a competition. When the timer started, one of them got straight to work chopping hard and full of energy. The other started by sharpening his ax. Partway through, the first person was tired and moving slow. He was inefficient while the second one was making excellent progress. He recognized the value of sharpening his ax.

Simply put, I did it for the knowledge. I believe that we have a limited amount of time on this earth and a task that far surpasses what we can accomplish in that time. Increasing my knowledge will allow me to increase my productivity and therefore my reach. The piece of paper doesn’t really mean all that much. What I do with the knowledge represented by that piece of paper will define the remainder of my life.

Jesus Christ has changed my life. He has given a purpose and a hope for my future and a promise for my eternity. I want to proclaim that there is that same hope and future for all who will believe in Him.

I could have gone the rest of my life standing on a box at the corner of a street yelling at the top of my lungs that “Jesus is the way the truth and the life, and no one comes to the Father except through Him.” He is. I dare say this would have been a worthwhile venture. Although I don’t know how many people would be receptive to that approach. I would also be severely limited to those who actually chose to walk in that general vicinity.

Media is changing the world at such a rapid pace, it is nearly impossible to keep up with it. It is a certainty that we will not keep up with it if we do not at least attempt to.

Within the next couple years, every single individual on the entire planet will have access to the Internet. There will be a smart phone device in every person’s hand. People will be able to watch full quality television streaming content on their mobile devices within just a couple years – possibly all over the globe. These aren’t my speculations. I have seen the business plans, listen to talks by those with the experimental engineering plans and the global initiatives. These things will happen. But will the church be ready to utilize these tools or will we be left trying to shout at the top of our lungs on the street corner while people glare as they intentionally cross on the other side of the street.

How long will we continue to chop wood with a dull ax? You and I have been tasked with the charge to change the world as Christ has changed ours. I graduated in December and have already seen great benefit from the knowledge I gathered while at Regent University. Believe it or not, after 15 years in the industry, there were heaps of new knowledge in every class I took.

So what about you? What are you doing to sharpen your ax? How will you change the world with the message of Jesus Christ?

11228912_10153277158096944_8799818397853096906_n

